Soba noodle soup

Hi! I’m Aimee and I’m honored to be a guest contributor to this blog! =]

This is something I often make at home because it is super simple and adaptable and I looove soba.

To start I cooked soba in boiling water for 6-7 minutes and then drained the noodles.

Meanwhile, I cooked everything else in another pot of boiling water. I added some salt and soy sauce and a splash of soba dipping sauce (if you don’t have that handy, you can add a splash of sugar and cooking wine instead). The egg takes the longest to cook so I threw that into the pot first. You can cook it according to your preferences-I personally like the yolk slightly runny. Then I tossed in mushrooms and green onion, and let it sit for a while. Lastly, I added in baby spinach and seaweed.

As soon as it boiled, I added the noodles and tada-there we have soba noodle soup! Ideally, I’d add a lot of white pepper on top but we happened to not have any in the house. The vegetables are completely exchangeable. For example, instead of spinach and green onions, you could add carrots and cilantro, or whatever you happen to have in your fridge.

Yay I’m so glad I got to share this with you! You may be hearing more from me this summer.

Note from Nina: YAAAYYYYYYYY! This girl right here is ridic. excited to be eating homemade Asian foodz. =P

One thought on “Soba noodle soup

Leave a Reply

