Lentil stew

* Before Aimee proceeds to write, I want to say: this was delicious.

Yay this was a fun experiment for me! And definitely very different from other foods I’ve made. (By now you may have noticed I usually make Asian food.)

Our friend Karina brought a lot of lentils in addition to her awesome self this weekend. First, she soaked and cooked the lentils. Then we added some salt and put the lentils in Tupperware to keep in the fridge.

The next day, I combined some 1/2 tsp minced garlic, 1-1 1/4 tsp cumin, some oregano, and water in a small bowl and mixed until it resembled a paste, somewhat. Ideally, there would also be some minced ginger, ground cilantro, and turmeric, but we didn’t have any at home so I just made do without them. Then, I poured some oil in a pan, heated up some chopped onions in the oil until slightly brown, and added the paste. Next, I added in around 1Tbs of tomato pasta sauce. This one contained some mushrooms, but otherwise, I would add fresh mushrooms as well. Meanwhile, I heated up the lentils and some carrots on the stove. (This would also be the time to add kale or other vegetables you think would go well in the dish.) After a few minutes, when the sauce became more sauce-like and less liquid-y, I poured it into the lentils and added some salt and pepper.

Enjoy as a warm stew! Or wait until the lentils soak up the water and you have lentils without the stew. =]

One thought on “Lentil stew

Leave a Reply

